American Viticultural Area (AVA)

January 10, 2023 by
Maytte Rivera

An American Viticultural Area (AVA) is a specific grape growing region defined by law based on territory and climatic features. There are 267 AVAs in the United States, the first was founded in 1980 in Augusta, Missouri.  An AVA can be as large as the Upper Mississippi Valley with 30,000 square miles or as small as the Cole Ranch in California with less than 1 square mile. 

AVAs can be located within one or more larger AVAs.  For example, Oakville is located inside Napa Valley, which is in the North Coast in California. Enjoy a tour of these AVAs with the following wines:

Bogle “Phantom”, Red Blend, California
Schramsberg, Blanc de Blanc, North Coast
Silver Oak, Cabernet Sauvignon, Napa Valley
O’Shaughnessy, Cabernet Sauvignon, Oakville

Author: Maytte Rivera

Odoo • Text and Image

Read Next